Management of the School of Mechanical Engineering

The management of the School of Mechanical Engineering consists of the Dean, his Deputy Dean, the Deanary Consultant and the administrative office.


The Dean is appointed by the deanery committee every two years. He acts as a connection between the School of Study and the Executive Board and serves as contact persion for the professors concerning teaching matters.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thorsten Kern
Institut für Mechatronik im Maschinenbau (M-4)
Eißendorfer Str. 38 (O)
Raum 010
21073 Hamburg
Tel.: 040 / 42878 – 4204
E-Mail: t.a.kern(at)tuhh(dot)de

Deputy Dean

The Deputy Dean fills in for the Dean in case of his absence and will usually take over the office as Dean in the next term of office.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Arne Speerforck
Institut für Technische Thermodynamik (M-21)
Denickestr. 17 (Gebäude L)
Raum 0011
21073 Hamburg
Tel.: 040 / 42878 – 3244
E-Mail: arne.speerforck(at)tuhh(dot)de

Deanery Consultant

The Deanery Consultant supports the Dean in his tasks and ensures continuity within the School of Study. She coordinates teaching matters within the School of Study and assists the professors in their planning and organization of the teaching. Furthermore, she acts as an important interface between the School of Study, the Executive Board and administration and also takes care of matters like marketing of the study programs.

Dr.-Ing. Sandra Köhler
Studiendekanat Maschinenbau
Eißendorfer Straße 38 (O)
Raum 0.020
21073 Hamburg
Tel.: 040 / 42878 – 4209
E-Mail: sandra.koehler(at)tuhh(dot)de

Deanery Office

The Deanery Office works closely with the Dean and the Deanery Consultant. It provides comprehensive support, information and advice in all matters of academic self-administration and accompanies the committee work of the Board of the School of Study.


Anke Kobabe

Technische Universität
Am Schwarzenberg-Campus 3
Gebäude E, Raum 0.075
21073 Hamburg

E-Mail: dekanat-m(at)tuhh(dot)de