WebVPN

Please open only one single browser window for the WebVPN session: This way you are making manipulations and data theft through unauthorized cross-domain-access impossible.

General

As an alternative to VPN Client you can use WebVPN (particularly PDAs, for which there is no VPN client from Cisco). Again, there is an encrypted and tunneled connection to the network of TUHH. The main difference is that the VPN client reroutes the traffic from the whole computer into the TUHH LAN, while the WebVPN-based service does this only for the WebVPN browser tab. You can not start SSH connections via the WebVPN Access. For security reasons, you should not call any HTTPS sites (eg online banking) because certificates can not be verified. If you want to use our webmail, please enter the address into the adress line, since the webmail is accessible from our wireless network directly and without a VPN connection.

Prerequisite for the use of WebVPN is a network connection either in notebook Pool, in the WiFi of the TUHH or access through other providers.

How to build a WebVPN connection

  1. In order to use the WebVPN, open the browser (IE, Firefox, or similar) and access the WebVPN page: https://webvpn.rz.tuhh.de

  2. After a successful login you will see a message box:

  3. Then go to the welcome page of the WebVPN. From there you can change your Kerberos-password, use the VPN service (download of the VPN client) or access other unencrypted pages.

  4. https://webvpn.rz.tuhh.de will be displayed in the browser during the whole VPN session as the first part of the WWW-address.

  5. In the top right corner of a web page a small transparent menu appears. From this menu you can (from left to right): move the menu, enter a URL, go back to the front page or end the session.

How to close a WebVPN connection

  1. Sign off again after the session, eg from the welcome page:

FAQ

  • I get a certificate warning when I call the WebVPN page.
    Install the DFN root certificate please.
  • [faq1] Why shouldn't one conduct any sensitive activities (online-banking for example) over the WebVPN?
    The WebVPN connection to the VPN terminal is a SSL encrypted connection, this certificate can be checked by the user. When accessing SSL encrypted external pages (https) through the WebVPN, the external certificates will be automatically accepted by the VPN server. The user does not have the possibility to verify the validity of the external certificate.
  • [faq2] Can I remove the WebVPN floating bar?
    You cannot remove the floating tool bar nor avoid loading the floating toolbar while you establish the WebVPN session. This is because when you close this window the session is terminated immediately and when you try to login again the window is loaded again. This is the way the WebVPN sessions were designed originally. You can close the main window but it is not possible to close the floating window.
  • [faq3] Why can my mail program pick up external e-mails with the VPN client, though not with WebVPN?
    WebVPN is a web-based service, which only works over the browser with which you logged on to the WebVPN service. Other programs which access to (TUHH-) external services like e-mail or instant messenger generally cannot use the WebVPN connection.
  • go to the general VPN FAQ

Questions/Support

Please make sure that your device has the latest patches installed, that you are not using more than one anti-virus program and that no "unblocker" is active.
(Unblocker are programs which can unlock content, that is blocked in one country, but not another.)

If you have questions or problems, please have a look at our help pages first. (Klick here for VPN Help)
With questions, suggestions, reports or further problems please contact our User Service Center (Helpdesk). We respond quickly to e-mails to servicedesk@tuhh.de. During the semester, the WLAN consultation will take place with Jelisa Bonsen, Phillip Vogel and Niklas Krüger in E2.048. You can find the dates here, as well as in the corridors in the E building.

  • mondays: 15:00 - 17:00
  • tuesdays: 10:00 - 12:00
  • wednesdays: 16:00 - 18:00
  • thursday: 16:00 - 18:00

WebVPN

Bitte öffnen Sie für die WebVPN-Sitzung nur ein einziges Browserfenster: Sie machen dadurch Manipulationen und Datendiebstahl durch unerlaubte Cross-Domain-Zugriffe unmöglich. [mehr]

Mit WebVPN können keine Seiten angezeigt werden, die nur über eine Shibboleth-Authentifizierung erreichbar sind.

Allgemeines

Alternativ zum VPN Client können Sie den Zugang über den WebVPN nutzen (insbesondere SmartPhones, für die es keinen VPN Client von Cisco gibt) oder um das Henne-Ei-Problem zu lösen, den Cisco-VPN-Client erstmalig herunterladen. Auch hier handelt es sich um eine verschlüsselte und getunnelte Verbindung zum Netz der TUHH. Der wesentliche Unterschied liegt darin, dass beim VPN Client sich der ganze Rechner, beim WebVPN-Zugang nur der Browser bzw. der Web-basierende Dienst im LAN der TUHH befindet. Über den WebVPN-Zugang können Sie keine SSH-Verbindungen starten. Aus Sicherheitsgründen sollten Sie keine HTTPS-Seiten (z.B. Homebanking) aufrufen, da Zertifikate nicht überprüft werden können. Sollten Sie unseren Webmailer benutzen wollen, so rufen Sie die Adresse direkt auf, da der Webmailer aus unserem WLAN Netz direkt und ohne VPN Verbindung zu erreichen ist.

Voraussetzung zur Nutzung des WebVPN ist eine Netzwerkverbindung entweder im Notebook-Pool, im Funknetz der TUHH oder der Zugang über andere Provider.

WebVPN Verbindung aufbauen

  1. Um WebVPN zu nutzen, rufen Sie den Browser (IE, Firefox o. ä.) auf und greifen auf die WebVPN-Seite zu: https://webvpn.rz.tu-harburg.de

    Screenshot:

  2. Nach erfolgreicher Anmeldung sehen Sie ein Nachrichten-Fenster:

    Screenshot:

  3. und gelangen anschließend auf die Eingangsseite des WebVPN. Von hier aus können Sie oder auf weitere Webseiten zugreifen, z.B. um den Cisco VPN Client herunterzuladen.

    Screenshot:

  4. Als erster Bestandteil der WWW-Adresse wird im Browser während der ganzen VPN-Sitzung https://webvpn.rz.tu-harburg.de angezeigt.

    Screenshot:

  5. In der rechten oberen Ecke einer Webseite wird ein kleines transparentes Menü eingeblendet. Über dieses Menü können Sie (von links nach rechts): das Menü verschieben, zur Eingangsseite zurückgelangen, eine URL eingeben oder die Sitzung beenden.

    Screenshot:

WebVPN Verbindung trennen

  1. Melden Sie sich nach der Sitzung wieder ab, z.B. über die Eingangsseite:

    Screenshot:

FAQ

  • [faq1] Warum sollte man keine sensiblen Aktionen (z.B. Online-Banking) über eine WebVPN Verbindung durchführen?
    Die WebVPN Verbindung zum VPN Endpunkt ist eine SSL verschlüsselte Verbindung, dieses Zertifikat kann vom Benutzer überprüft werden. Bei Zugriff auf SSL verschlüsselte externe Seiten (https) mithilfe von WebVPN werden die externen Zertifikate automatisch vom VPN Server akzeptiert. Der Benutzer hat keine Möglichkeit, die Gültigkeit des externen Zertifikats zu verifizieren.
  • [faq2] Kann man die WebVPN Navigationsleiste entfernen?
    Sie können die WebVPN Navigantionsleiste weder entfernen noch verhindern, dass sie geladen wird, wenn Sie eine WebVPN Verbindung aufbauen wollen. Aufgrund der sofortigen Beendigung der WebVPN Verbindung durch Schließen des Browser-Fensters muss auch der Login Vorgang samt WebVPN Navigationsleiste neu geladen werden, wenn Sie weiterhin das WebVPN nutzen wollen.
  • [faq3] Warum kann mein Mail Programm mit dem VPN Client externe Emails abholen, aber mit WebVPN nicht?
    WebVPN ist ein Web-basierter Dienst, der nur über den Browser funktioniert, mit dem man sich beim WebVPN Dienst angemeldet hat. Andere Programme, die auf (TUHH-)externe Dienste zugreifen, wie Email oder Instant Messenger, können im Allgemeinen die WebVPN Verbindung nicht nutzen.
  • weitere Antworten in der allgemeinen VPN FAQ

Fragen/Support

Bei Fragen oder Problemen schauen Sie bitte zuerst auf unsere Hilfeseiten. Für Fragen, Anregungen, Erfahrungsberichte oder mit weitergehenden Problemen wenden Sie sich bitte an unser User Service Center (Helpdesk).

Die WLAN-Beratung findet statt bei Niklas Krüger in E2.047 (SBC 3)

  • Mittwoch 22.11. 12:30 - 14:00 Uhr
  • Donnerstag 23.11. 11:15 - 13:00 Uhr
  • Freitag 24.11. 13:45 - 14:45 Uhr
  • Donnerstag 30.11. 14:00 - 16:00 Uhr
  • Freitag 01.12. 13:45 - 14:45 Uhr
Weitere Termine folgen in Kürze.