Background Information

The Weinblum Memorial Foundation  was established in 1978 in order to bring the Weinblum Memorial Lecture series into being. This series honours the legacy and scientific contributions of Georg Weinblum.

While the Foundation initially organised one lecture per year, the following scheme has become standard:

  • The lecture is given at the Annual General Meeting of The German Society for Maritime Technology (STG).
  • It is repeated in the subsequent year in the United States in an alternating manner:
    • At the ONR Symposium on Naval Hydrodynamics
    • At the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D.C.


If you are interested in more background information, please peruse the following pages: selection committee, some statistics and information on the origins.

Convention of former Weinblum Memorial Lecturers, 12th International Workshop on Water Waves and Floating Bodies, Carry-le-Rouet, France, 1997. Standing, from left to right: Hajime Maruo, Marshall P. Tulin, Theodore Y. Wu, John P. Breslin, John V. Wehausen and Fritz J. Ursell. Sitting, from left to right: Touvia Miloh, Lars Larsson, John N. Newman, Ernest O. Tuck, Odd M. Faltinsen and Som Deo Sharma. Photograph: D. H. Peregrine.