Georg Weinblum Award

Outstanding doctoral dissertations, scientific papers or equivalent publications in the field of ship technology submitted by a person affiliated to a German university are eligible to receive the Georg Weinblum Award [1]. The prize was established in 1986 along with the Georg Weinblum Foundation and is awarded once a year in a ceremony during the Annual General Meeting of the German Society for Maritime Technology (STG).

Current Awardee

Sebastian Alexander Uharek

Numerical Prediction of Ship Manoeuvring Performance in Waves

Technical University of Berlin

Selection Commitee

The selection committee consists of five representatives [1]:

  • The Chairman of the Technical-Scientific Advisory Council (Technisch-Wissenschaftlicher Beirat) of the German Society for Maritime Technology (STG), currently: Prof. Dr.-Eng. Patrick Kaeding [2]
  • Appointed faculty representatives of the
    • Institut für Land- und Seeverkehr (ILS) of the Technical University of Berlin, currently: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andrés Cura Hochbaum [3]
    • Department of Mechanical Engineering of the University of Duisburg-Essen, currently: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ould A. M. El Moctar [4]
    • Department of Mechanical Engineering and Ship Technology of the University of Rostock, currently: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Robert Bronsart [5]
    • Shipbuilding institutes affiliated to the Hamburg University of Technology, currently: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Krüger [6]



[1] Charter of the Georg Weinblum Foundation (in German)

External Links

[2] Patrick Kaeding at the University of Rostock
[3] Andrés Cura Hochbaum at the Berlin University of Technology
[4] Ould A. M. El Moctar at the University of Duisburg-Essen
[5] Robert Bronsart at the University of Rostock
[6] Stefan Krüger at the Hamburg University of Technology