Selection Committee

It is the task of the selection committee to find "an internationally recognized authority in the area of ship hydrodynamics" [1] belonging to the group of "individuals who exemplify the spirit of Georg P. Weinblum" [2]. The convened committee consists of four members, two German and two American representatives, all having equal rights. The current constitution of the committee is as follows [3]:

  • A professor affiliated with the shipbuilding institutes of the Hamburg University of Technology; currently: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Moustafa Abdel-Maksoud [4]
  • Chairman of the Expert Committee for Ship Hydrodynamics of The German Society for Maritime Technology (STG); currently: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ould A. M. El Moctar [5]
  • Chair of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Ship Research; currently: Prof. Eric Paterson [6]
  • Chairman of the SNAME H-5 Panel (Analytical Ship Wave Relations); currently: Arthur M. Reed

The selection committee may consider suggestions made by the research community. The official invitation letter was traditionally signed by the President of the University of Hamburg and the President of the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) [2]. Today the President of The German Society for Maritime Technology (STG) signs the invitation letter [3].


[1] Original agreement of establishment
[2] Invitation letter to the third Weinblum Memorial Lecturer
[3] Supplementary agreements

External Links

[4] Moustafa Abdel-Maksoud at the Hamburg University of Technology
[5] Ould A. M. El Moctar at the University of Duisburg-Essen
[6] Eric Paterson at Virginia Tech