Emilio F. Campana

INSEAN, Rome, Italy

36th Georg Weinblum Memorial Lecture (2013/14)

Ship design under uncertainty via high-fidelity stochastic optimization

Short Biography

Emilio F. Campana (Rome, 1960) is the Head of the Engineering, ICT, Energy and Transport Department of the National Research Council (CNR) of Italy, which includes 20 research institutes (about 1000 researchers) covering the areas of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science and Informatics, Systems and Communication Engineering, Civil and Industrial Engineering.

Campana has a degree in Mechanical Engineering (summa cum laude) and a PhD in Applied and Theoretical Mechanics, both granted by the University of Rome "Sapienza".

He has been researcher at the IBM European Center for Scientific and Engineering Computing, till 1991, and then joined the National Towing tank (INSEAN), that lately (in 2010) became the Marine Technology Research Institute of the National Research Council of Italy (CNR-INSEAN). Starting from 2010, he was the Head of the Institute, till 2017, after which he got the position of Head of the CNR Engineering Department.

He has been doing research in a wide range of topics, numerical methods for hydrodynamics (ship’s drag, capsizing, wave breaking phenomena, impacts, geophysical flows), and ship design optimization (multiobjective, multidisciplinary, stochastic), for more than 30 years, authoring and co-authoring more than 180 papers and conference proceedings, acting also as PI of many EDA and ONR-NICOP projects, and working closely with US and Japanese colleagues.

Campana is national representative in the JPI Oceans initiative, the European platform for the harmonization of marine and maritime national research programs, and in the NATO Science and Technology board. Apart from the Georg Weinblum Memorial Lectureship in 2013/14, he is recipient of the following awards: American Bureau of Shipping Award (2009) for the best paper presented at the US Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) annual meeting; Scientific Achievement Award (2012) by NATO – Research and Technology Organization.

Last update: January 2018