Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Alexander Koelpin


+49 40 42878 - 3019
+49 40 42731 - 0201

DE 22 (Building I) / Room 1.043/1.044

Curriculum Vitae

March 2020 - today    
Professor and head of the Institute for High Frequency Technology
Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH)

2017 - 2020    
Professor and Head of Department for General Electrical Engineering and Measurement Technology
Brandenburg University of Technology (BTU) Cottbus-Senftenberg

2014 - 2017    
Private Lecturer and Head of Research Group Circuits, Systems & Hardware Test
Friedrich-Alexander-University (FAU) Erlangen-Nuremberg, Chair for Technical Electronics

2010 - 2014    
Habilitand and research group leader Circuits, Systems & Hardware Test
Friedrich-Alexander-University (FAU) Erlangen-Nuremberg, Chair for Technical Electronics

2005 - 2010    
PhD student and research assistant
Friedrich-Alexander-University (FAU) Erlangen-Nuremberg, Chair of Technical Electronics

Diploma in Electrical Engineering
Electronics and Information Technology (EEI), Friedrich-Alexander-University (FAU) Erlangen-Nuremberg

Research Topics

  • Radar and high frequency sensor technology
  • Wireless communication systems
  • High-frequency instrumentation and measurement technology
  • Packaging and interconnection technology for high-frequency systems
  • Hardware-related algorithms and high-frequency system linearization

Involvement in the Scientific Community

  • Elected member of the IEEE MTT-S/AP German Chapter Executive Committee, election periods 2018/2019 and 2020/2021
  • Active ember in the Technical Committee IEEE TC MTT-16: Microwave Systems, now IEEE TC MTT-24: Microwave/mm-Wave Radar, Sensing and Array Systems, 2016-2018 Co-Chair, 2018-2020 Chairman
  • Representative of the Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) for the general IEEE Transportation Technologies Award Committee (2013 – 2016)
  • Conference Secretary of the European Conference on Wireless Technology 2007, Munich, Germany: Co-located conference at European Microwave Week (EuMW)
  • General Office Chairman for the European Microwave Week 2013, Nuremberg, Germany
  • Appointed Member of Commission A: Electromagnetic Metrology of U.R.S.I. - International Union of Radio Science
  • Appointed Member of the VDE ITG Fachausschuss 7.3 Mikrowellentechnik, since 2018
  • Member of the European Action COST IC1301 – Wireless Power Transmission for Sustainable Electronics
  • Collaboration Associate with CERN, Section Engineering – Sources-Target-Interaction – Equipment Controls and Electronics (EN-STI-ECE), since 2016

Program Committee and Reviewer Engagement

  • Project referee of the German Science Foundation (DFG) and the Austrian FWF
  • Conference-Co-Chairman ofthe IEEE Topical Conference on Wireless Sensors and Sensor Networks (WiSNet): Co-located conference within IEEE MTT-S Radio Wireless Week (RWW) in the USA; 2012-2017
  • Finance Chair IEEE MTT-S Radio Wireless Week 2020 (RWW), San Antonio, USA, 2020
  • Technical Program Chair IEEE MTT-S Radio Wireless Week 2021 (RWW), San Diego, USA, 2021
  • Chairman of the German Microwave Conference 2020, Cottbus, 2020
  • Member of Program Committees of several international scientific conferences (unter anderem IEEE MTT-S Intern. Microwave Symposium, IEEE Topical Meeting on Wireless Sensors and Sensor Networks, European Radar Conf., European Microwave Conf., German Microwave Conf.)
  • Reviewer für diverse Zeitschriften und Konferenzen Nature, IEEE, IET, EUMA, PIERS, Hindawi (amongst others Nature Communications Physics, IEEE Trans. on Microw. Theory and Techniques, IEEE Microw. Magazine, EuMA Intern. Journal of Microw. and Wireless Techn., IEEE Trans. on Instrumentation and Measurement, IET Electronics Letters, IEEE Microw. and Wireless Components Letters)
  • Juror of the worldwide IEEE Presidents' Change the World Competition 2013 and 2014
  • Guest Editor of the Special Issue on Multiport Technology, Journal of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Hindawi, 2014
  • Juror for several Best Student Paper Contests
Publications Overview
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Alexander Kölpin