Terrestrial power systems

Research Area

Dynamics, control and stability

Electrical power systems are largely distributed and highly dynamic systems with widely varying time constants. This has always required ensuring stable operation and designing suitable controls for numerous tasks while maintaining stability in the well-known forms applicable to electrical power systems. The current transformation of systems is leading to an increasing coupling of electrical energy systems with systems for gas and heat supply as well as to an increased integration of power-electronically coupled systems and operating equipment. This influences the dynamics of the overall system and its stability, so that a variety of tasks have to be solved for analysing the dynamics, ensuring stability and developing controls for present and future energy systems. The ieet focuses in particular on the following key topics:

  • Ancillary services from wind energy and PV plants
  • Dynamics and stability in sector-coupled energy systems
  • Stability and grid control in transmission grids with power-electronically coupled devices
  • Grid-supporting controller behaviour of decentralised generation plants for frequency stability
  • Integration of power-electronically coupled plants as elements of cyber-physical energy systems


Dynamics, control and stability
Dynamics, control and stability

Ongoing and completed projects

Stability and Grid Control in Transmission Systems with inverter-coupled resources

Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH); Duration: 2021 to 2025


Disruptive functions and technology for angle-based integrated grid operation in converter-dominated power systems with predominantly renewable energy supply

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK); Duration: 2021 to 2024


Verify Green Technologies for Intelligent Grid Control with Power Hardware-in-the-Loop

Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH); Duration: 2020 to 2022


Resilience of integrated energy systems with a high share of renewables

Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH); Duration: 2017 to 2021