We are proud to announce that the IWWG has launched its second official journal called Detritus. [read more]

SUM 2018

IV Symposium on Urban Mining, May 21-23, 2018, Bergamo, Italy. Website & Call for papers

ICLRS 2018

10th Intercontinental Landfill Research Symposium, June 26-28, 2018, Sunderbyn, Sweden. Call for Session Proposals & Abstracts open. Website

CRETE 2018

6thInternational Conference on Hazardous and Industrial Waste Management,  Chania-Crete, Greece, September 4 - 7, 2018. Website, Announcement


7th International Symposium on Energy from Biomass and Waste, October 15-18, 2018, Venice, Italy. Website

* IWWG co-sponsored events

Scientific Advisory Panel (SAP)

The Scientific Advisory Panel is a pool of a limited number of high-ranking distinguished scientists and professionals, appointed by the Board in view of their high reputation and standing. They act as a kind of think tank and support the Board. In addition, the SAP is preparing policy papers for the IWWG on current waste topics. These papers can be reviewed under the IWWG website section "Publications" as well as in the official journal of the IWWG, Waste Management.

Currently, the SAP consists of the following members:

  • M. Aivalioti, Technical University of Crete, Greece
  • M. Barlaz, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA
  • J. E. Bogner, Landfills+ Inc., USA
  • L. Butti, B & P Avvocati, Verona, Italy
  • D. Cheng, Tongji University, China
  • J. Y. Kim, Seoul National University, South Korea
  • M. C. Lavagnolo, University of Padova, Italy
  • J. Liu, Tsinghua University, China
  • W. Lu, Tsinghua University, China
  • S. Mahnik, VAMED-KMB, Vienna, Austria
  • A. Muntoni, University of Cagliari, Italy
  • M. Nelles, University of Rostock, Rostock, Germany
  • M. Osmani, Loughborough University, UK
  • I. Pikaar, University of Queensland, Australia
  • A. Polettini, University of Rome "La Sapienza", Italy
  • W. Powrie, University of Southampton, UK
  • M. Ritzkowski, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany
  • S. Sakai, Kyoto University, Japan
  • S. Salhofer, BOKU University, Vienna, Austria
  • K. Spokas, US Department of Agriculture – Agricultural Research Service, USA
  • I. Williams, University of Southampton, Southampton, UK
  • V. S. Rotter, University of Berlin, Berlin, Germany
  • H. Zhang, Tongji University, China
  • C. Zurbruegg, Eawag/Sandec, Duebendorf, Switzerland

The Scientific Advisory Panel is composed of selected IWWG members. Scientific Advisory Panel Members are approved by the Board by consensus or vote. Members may nominate themselves to the Board for Scientific Advisory Panel Membership. In addition, Scientific Advisory Panel members may be nominated by a Board member, and seconded by two other Board members.