Distinctions and awards

AwardProfessor Erica Thea Lilleodden PhD (TP B4, B8), the department lead on “Experimental material mechanics” at the Institute of Materials Research at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Centre for Materials and Coastal Research (HZG), is to receive the DGM Prize from the German Society for Materials Science (DGM) for her outstanding scientific achievements in materials research (press release and encomium). - November 2019
AwardHannah Rothberg (TP A3) was awarded the third prize of the Poster Award at the international conference PARTEC2019 for her poster on the topic "Fabrication of Highly-filled Composites Using Spouted Bed Spray Coating". - April 2019
AwardVincent Blümer received the junior prize for the best bachelor thesis at the Bergische Universität Wuppertal. The thesis was done in project B6. - January 2019
AwardThe SFB postdoctoral researchers Dr. Berta Domènech  (TP A6) and Dr. Tobias Krekeler (TP Z3) came in second and third place at this year's IAMNano conference in the category "Young Professionals". - October 2018
AwardProf. Horst Weller (TP A1 und C6) received the ECIS Solvay-Prize 2018 at this year's conference of the European Colloid and Interface Society (ECIS). - September 2018
FellowshipSFB postdoctoral researcher Dr. Diletta Giuntini (TP A6) was awarded a Alexander von Humboldt-Fellowship for her project "Process modeling and optimization of bulk supercrystalline nanocomposites". - June 2018 until May 2020
Achievement"Adsorption-induced deformation of nanoporous materials - A review" (TP B7) is one of the top 10 most cited publications in Applied Physics Reviews 2017. - May 2018
AwardProf. Stefan Heinrich (TP A3) received the "Editorial Excellence Award 2017" for his work as Executive Editor for the journal "Advanced Powder Technology" (Elsevier). - May 2018
AchievementTop 100 most read physics publications in Scientific Reports 2017: Out of >3000 physics publications, "Dynamic measurement of near-field radiative heat transfer" (TP C1) is among the top 100 most read in 2017. - April 2018
AwardProf. Volker Abetz (TP A2) received the "Paul J. Flory Polymer Research Prize" 2017. The prize is under the auspices of the Scientific Committee of World Forum on Advanced Materials and the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC). - 2017
Poster Prize

Murilo Hablitzel, a PhD candidate working in the SFB (TP B4), received the Carl Zeiss poster award at the Summer School on Experimental Nano- and Micromechanics. The Summer School took place at the Max-Planck Institut für Eisenforschung in Düsseldorf. - September 2017


SFB-PhD candidate Björn Arndt (TP A7) received the $1000 Student / Young Scientist Prize at the International Conference on the Structure of Surfaces (ICSOS) 12, 2017 for his research on surface X-ray diffraction on magnetite (001). - July 2017

Guest ProfessorshipSwantje Bargmann is guest professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment of the University of Cape Town, South Africa. - January 2017 until December 2018
Poster PrizeSebastian Behr, a PhD candidate working in the SFB, received the Best Poster Award 2016 in the category "Functional Materials and Devices" at this year's Materials Science and Engineering (MSE). - October 2016
AwardEdgar Husser, a PhD candidate working in the SFB, received the Young Researchers' Travel Award at the 24th International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM). - August 2016
Conference ChairErica Lilleodden is Chair of the 2016 Gordon Research Conferences (GRC) Meeting "Thin Films and Small Scale Mechanical Behavior" - July 2016
Swantje Bargmann received the ESAFORM Scientific Award 2016 - April 2016
Stefan Heinrich received the DECHEMA Award 2015 - October 2015
AchievementThe publication "Size effects and strain localization in atomic-scale cleavage modeling" (TP B3) was picked for IOPselect by the editors. - 2015
Poster Prize

SFB-PhD candidate Eduard Eichner was awarded the best poster prize at the "7th International Granulation Workshop" in Sheffield, UK. This conference with around 400 attendees only takes place every other year. The award-winning poster was titled "Fabricating of hierarchically assembled ceramic-polymer composites using a spouted bed spray granulation process" (Eduard Eichner, Stefan Heinrich, Michael F. H. Wolff, Gerold A. Schneider and Sergiy Antonyuk). - July 2015

Guest ProfessorshipAlexander Petrov became guest professor at the laboratory for "Advanced Photonic Materials and Technologies" at the ITMO University in St. Petersburg, Russia - February 2015
Poster Prize
A team of researchers of the SFB 986 was awarded the best poster prize at the  „International Conference on Multiscale Materials Modeling“ in Berkeley, USA. Swantje Bargmann, Gerold Schneider, Ezgi Yilmaz of the TUHH as well as Norbert Huber, Ingo Scheider, Tao Xiao of the HZG convinced the jury with their poster on cracks in dental enamel. - October 2014
Award Karl Schulte receives the Medal of Excellence of the University of Delaware, USA - October 2014
Membership Swantje Bargmann is member of the international panel of experts for the evaluation of the Excellence Initiative (Joint Science Conference Germany, Federal Ministry of Education and Research). - July 2014 until January 2016
Guest Professorship
Swantje Bargmann is guest professor at the Division of Material and Computational Mechanics of the Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden. - January 2013 until December 2015