Prof. Hermann Rohling becomes ITG Fellow

On November 25, 2019, Prof. Hermann Rohling was appointed ITG Fellow by the Information Technology Society (ITG) of the Association for Electrical, Electronic and Information Technologies (VDE)

The elevation to ITG fellow values Prof. Rohling’s achievements in research of radar systems, which has been one of his key interests for many years. Prof. Rohling was with the research center of Telefunken AG im Ulm from 1977 to 1988. Since 1988, he is a full professor, starting his academic career at TU Braunschweig. From 1999 to 2012, he was head of the Institute of Communications at Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH).

The ITG award ceremony took place in Berlin in the framework of the traditional VDE end-of-year event (“VDE-Hauptstadtforum”) at the Brandenburg Academy of Sciences (BBAW). During this convention, which was joined by around 100 participants, different ITG prizes for research were awarded. Four professors received the grade of IFG fellow: Prof. Hermann Rohling, Prof. Paul Walter Baier (TU Kaiserslautern), Prof. Joachim Hagenauer (TU Munich), and Prof. Werner Wiesbeck (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology).

All the members of the Institute of Communications at TUHH congratulate Prof. Rohling on this special appointment!

More information on the ITG fellow award and the VDE event is available at