Research at School of Study E

The research of the institutes from the fields of electrical engineering, computer science and mathematics is united in the focus areas of energy technology, cyber-physical systems, data science, medical technology and modeling, simulation & optimization.

Within the research organization of the TUHH, the different areas work together in an interdisciplinary way in five different research fields. Of these, the research of the members of our School of Study can be found in the following four research fields:

   1. Advanced Materials & (Bio-)Processes
   2. Aviation & Maritime Technologies
   3. Cyber-Physical & Medical Systems
   4. Environmental & Energy Systems

In addition to the application-oriented research fields, another part of the research is the development of scientific methods in many areas of the TUHH in the foreground, the so-called Methods of Research in Science and Engineering @ TUHH.


Institutes of School of Study E

Electrical Engineering

E-3 High-Frequency Technology
Prof. Dr. Alexander Kölpin

E-4 Communication Networks
Prof. Dr. Andreas Timm-Giel

E-6 Electrical Power and Engineering
Prof. Dr. Christian Becker

E-7 Mikrosystems Technology
Prof. Dr. Khiem Trieu

E-8 Communications
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Bauch

E-9 Integrated Circuits
Interims Pofessor Dr. Bahr

E-12 Optical and Electronic Materials
Prof. Dr. Manfred Eich

E-14 Control Systems
Prof. Dr. H. Werner

E-18 Electromagnetic Theory
Prof. Dr. Christian Schuster

Computer Science

Theoretical Computer Science

E-11 Algorithms and Complexity
Prof. Dr. Matthias Mnich

E-13 Algebraic Engineering
Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Zimmermann

E-EXK6 Theoretical Computer Science
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Antoine Mottet

Software and Systems Engineering

E-1 Medical Technology and Intelligent Systems
Prof. Dr. Alexander Schläfer

E-5 Biomedical Imaging
Prof. Dr. Tobias Knopp

E-16 Software Systems
Prof. Dr. Sibylle Schupp

E-17 Telematics
Prof. Dr. Volker Turau

E-19 Data Engineering
Prof. Dr. Stefan Schulte

E-21 Data Science Foundations
Prof. Dr. Nihat Ay

E-22 Software Security
Prof. Dr. Riccardo Scandariato


Computer Engineering

E-4 Communication Networks*
Prof. Dr. Andreas Timm Giel

E-13 Computer Engineering
Prof. Dr. Görschwin Fey

E-13 Embedded Systems
Prof. Dr. Heiko Falk

E-15 Secure Cyber-Physical Systems
Prof. Dr. Sibylle Fröschle

E-24 Autonomous Cyber-Physical Systems
Prof. Dr. Christian Renner

E-EXK3 Smart Sensors
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Ulf Kulau

E-EXK4 Operating Systems
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Christian Dietrich

E-EXK5 Massively Parallel Systems
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Sohan Lal



E-10 Applied Analysis
Prof. Dr. Marko Lindner

E-10 Computational Mathematics
Prof. Dr. Daniel Ruprecht

E-10 Discrete Mathematics
Prof. Dr. Anusch Taraz

E-10 Numericale Mathematics
Prof. Dr. Sabine Le Borne

E-10 Stochastics
Prof. Dr. Matthias Schulte