CERMEDES AG

The seminar “CERMEDES AG” is an innovative lecture, which combines a theoretical education in business management with challenges from corporate practice. While working with an ERP system (SAP) and a model company (CERMEDES AG, a bike manufacturer) students of the degree courses Logistics and Mobility (Bachelor) and Mechanical Engineering and Management (Master) gain an in-depth understanding of complex and cross-functional business contexts. Furthermore, the students become very familiar with the structure and functionality of the standard business software SAP as a tool for information processing. Finally, competences for the successful implementation of IT projects are acquired and general project management skills as well as the ability to work in a team are fostered.

Project Management

The implementation of SAP at the CERMEDES AG is supported by a project management, which uses the project management module of SAP. Within the scope of the seminar the participants undertake the classic tasks of a project manager – from planning and preparation, to realization, and all the way to monitoring the project. Instruments of project management, like work breakdown structures, milestone trend analyses or networks, should not just be learnt theoretically, but also be critically questioned and practically applied.

Purchasing

Together with production and sales and distribution, purchasing forms the basis of the value-adding chain of the CERMEDES AG. The seminar participants, who are responsible for purchasing, supply the company's production with the necessary raw materials.

Apart from the development of a concept to build up the purchasing of the CERMEDES AG optimally, the students should develop a functioning procurement management and implement it with the materials management component of the SAP/ERP system.

The participants select suppliers, prepare and check orders, and monitor the inventory stocks of the model company. Teamwork is not just important to create the requirements planning, that needs to take a large number of different products and raw materials into account.

Production

With this component of the SAP system numerous exciting tasks in the area of production planning and shop floor control (e.g. a series production) can be implemented. The objective of the production of the CERMEDES AG is the most effective and cost-efficiency production of touring bikes and off-road racing bikes with the highest level of quality.

With this module the seminar participants learn in practical application how a concept of production planning, that was previously compiled, can be implemented into the company software. In this process, the students do not work isolated from the other participants – a good communication with the other teams is indispensable to realize a functioning production sequence in the CERMEDES AG.

Sales & Distribution

Sales and distribution not only processes and plans customer orders and the delivery of the products, but is also responsible for the marketing strategy and the organization of the four Ps (product, price, promotion, and placement) of the CERMEDES AG.

Thereby, the objective of the seminar is to develop an ideal distribution system for the model company and to implement this into the software. Among other things, sales analyses and sales forecasts are performed, customer orders are processed by seminar participants and pricing as well as discount systems are stored in the ERP system.

Certainly the external presentation of the CERMEDES AG is also an area of responsibility of the sales and distribution team.

Financial Accounting

The documentation of the total value of the business transactions is the responsibility of the financial accounting. Apart from a sensibly structure of the individual components of the financial accounting (from the choice of framework standard chart of accounts, to posting logics, up to managing vendor, customer and fixed asset accounts), the team is also responsible for the preparation of the financial statements of the CERMEDES AG.

The financial accounting faces the challenge of a series of interfaces to the other subjects – since the business transactions in purchasing and distribution as well as the production processes should be found in the profit and loss accounts or rather in the balance sheet of the CERMEDES AG. The seminar participants gather practical knowledge in accounting and gain deep insights into the company’s value flows.

CERMEDES AG

Das Seminar CERMEDES AG ist eine innovative Lehrveranstaltung, die eine theoretische, betriebswirtschaftliche Ausbildung mit Herausforderungen aus der Unternehmenspraxis verbindet. Durch die Arbeit mit einem ERP-System (SAP) und einem Modellunternehmen (CERMEDES AG, ein Fahrradhersteller) gewinnen Studierende der Studiengänge Logistik & Mobilität sowie Mechanical Engineering and Management ein tiefes Verständnis für komplexe und funktionsübergreifende betriebswirtschaftliche Zusammenhänge. Darüber hinaus sind unsere Studierenden nach Abschluss der Veranstaltung mit dem Aufbau und der Funktionalität der betriebswirtschaftlichen Standardsoftware SAP als Werkzeug der Informationsverarbeitung bestens vertraut. Schließlich werden Kompetenzen zur erfolgreichen Umsetzung von IT-Projekten erworben und generelle Projektmanagement-Fähigkeiten sowie Teamfähigkeit gefördert

Projektmanagement

Die Einführung von SAP bei der CERMEDES AG wird durch ein Projektmanagement unterstützt, welches auf das Projektmanagement-Modul von SAP zurückgreift. Die Seminarteilnehmer übernehmen hier im Rahmen des Seminars alle klassischen Aufgaben eines Projektmanagers, von der Vorbereitung und Planung, über die Realisierung, bis hin zur Kontrolle eines Projekts. Instrumente des Projektmanagements, wie Projektstrukturpläne, Meilensteintrendanalysen oder auch Netzpläne sollen dabei nicht nur theoretisch gelernt, sondern auch kritisch hinterfragt und praktisch angewendet werden.

Einkauf

Der Einkauf bildet zusammen mit der Produktion und dem Vertrieb die Basis der Wertschöpfungskette der CERMEDES AG. Die Seminarteilnehmer, die den Einkauf der CERMEDES AG leiten, versorgen die Produktion des Unternehmens mit den notwendigen Rohstoffen. Dabei müssen Kapitalbindungskosten und Out-of-Stock-Situationen vermieden werden.

Neben der Entwicklung eines Konzeptes zum optimalen Aufbau des Einkaufs bei der CERMEDES AG, sollen die Studierenden ein funktionstüchtiges Beschaffungsmanagement entwickeln und mit der Komponente „Materialwirtschaft“ im SAP/ERP-System umsetzen.

Die Teilnehmer wählen Lieferanten aus, erstellen und prüfen Bestellungen und überwachen die Lagerbestände des Modellunternehmens. Teamwork ist dabei nicht nur bei der Erstellung einer Bedarfsplanung gefragt, die eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Produkte und Rohstoffe berücksichtigen muss.

Produktion

Mit dieser Komponente des SAP-Systems lassen sich zahlreiche spannende Aufgaben im Bereich der Produktionsplanung und Fertigungssteuerung z.B. einer Serienfertigung umsetzen. Ziel der Fertigung der CERMEDES AG ist die möglichst effektive und kostengünstige Produktion von hochqualitativen Straßen- und Offroad-Rädern.

Anhand dieses Moduls lernen die Seminarteilnehmer in praktischer Anwendung, wie sich ein vorher zu erarbeitendes Konzept zur Produktionsplanung in die Unternehmenssoftware umsetzen lässt. Dabei arbeiten die Studierenden auch hier nicht isoliert von den anderen Seminarteilnehmern, viel mehr ist eine gute Kommunikation mit den anderen Teams unabdingbar, um einen funktionierenden Fertigungsablauf in der CERMEDES AG zu realisieren.

Vertrieb

Der Vertrieb bearbeitet und plant nicht nur die Kundenbestellungen und die Auslieferung der Produkte, sondern ist auch für die Marketingstrategie und die Gestaltung der 4-Ps (Product, Price, Promotion & Placement) in der CERMEDES AG verantwortlich.

Ziel des Seminars ist es dabei, ein ideales Vertriebssystem für das Modellunternehmen zu entwickeln und dies mit der Software zu implementieren. Dazu werden u.a. Absatzanalysen und -prognosen durchgeführt, Kundenaufträge von den Seminarteilnehmern bearbeitet und Preis- und Rabattsysteme im ERP-System hinterlegt.

Natürlich ist auch die Außendarstellung der CERMEDES AG ein Aufgabengebiet des Vertriebsteams.

Finanzbuchhaltung

Die wertmäßige Dokumentation der Geschäftsvorfälle der CERMEDES AG obliegt der Finanzbuchhaltung. Neben einem sinnvollen Aufbau der einzelnen Komponenten einer Finanzbuchhaltung (von der Wahl des Kontenrahmens, über Buchungslogiken bis hin zu der Verwaltung von Kreditoren-, Debitoren- und Anlagenkonten) ist das Team auch für die Erstellung des Jahresabschlusses der CERMEDES AG zuständig.

Die Finanzbuchhaltung steht hier der Herausforderung einer ganzen Reihe an Schnittstellen zu den anderen Themen gegenüber – schließlich sollen sich die Geschäftsvorfälle des Einkaufs und Vertriebs genauso wie die Prozesse der Produktion in der Gewinn- und Verlustrechnung bzw. der Bilanz der CERMEDES AG wiederfinden. Die Seminarteilnehmer sammeln so praktische Erfahrungen im Rechnungswesen und gewinnen einen tiefen Einblick in die Wertströme eines Unternehmens.