iCabin - The Intelligent Cabin

The Intelligent Cabin inter-connects information from sophisticated cabin systems to an overall cabin condition enabling new innovative digital passenger, cabin crew and airline services.

For a safe and passenger-friendly air transport, the aircraft cabin as a whereabouts and work system must be more adapted to the airline’s and passenger’s needs. The digitalization of cabin processes allows to introduce innovative operational, logistics and MRO concepts. The iCabin consortium focuses on the following primary objectives:

  • the development of a communication standard for an intelligent cabin network,
  • the introduction of predictive maintenance for cabin systems, including standardized interfaces,
  • the interconnection of currently independent and separated cabin systems, e.g. seats, galleys, lavatories and surfaces, via the cabin network.

The complexity of the iCabin project with all its many partners require on the one hand due to the broad scope a comprehensive system’s engineering approach. On the other hand, within the sub-projects, a high level of detail must be achieved for the system development.

Contribution of the Institute of Aircraft Cabin Systems

The Institute of Aircraft Systems supports the iCabin project with Systems Engineering methods and tools and contributes to the system design of the intelligent cabin networks as well as to the system design of the intelligent galleys and lavatories.

For this, the institute uses its knowledge on aircraft cabin systems and the method and tools required for the development of such systems. Furthermore, the institute pursues a rearrangement of the safety-relevant operational and commercial-oriented business processes and thereby paves the way for novel digital cabin products. A wireless architecture with interfaces to all stakeholders enables the digital transformation of the cabin in the air transportation system. For the design of this architecture, the institute uses its knowledge on aircraft cabin systems and modern tools and methods for a model-based system design.

Project Duration: Januar 01, 2018 – March 31, 2021


Supported by:

on the basis of a descision
by the German Bundestag


Click here to open the project site in a new window.

iCabin - Die intelligente Kabine

Die intelligente Kabine vernetzt Informationen von hochentwickelten Kabinensystemen zu einem Gesamtzustandsbild für neue innovative digitale Fluggast-, Flugbegleiter- und Airline-Dienstleistungen

Für eine sichere und passagierfreundliche Luftfahrt ist die Kabine als Aufenthaltsort und Arbeitssystem stärker an den Bedürfnissen der Passagiere und der Fluggesellschaften auszurichten. Die Digitalisierung von Prozessen in der Kabine fördert innovative Betriebs-, Logistik- und MRO-Konzepte. Der Gesamtverbund konzentriert sich dazu im Vorhaben iCabin schwerpunktmäßig auf folgende Ziele:

  • die Erstellung eines Kommunikationsstandards für ein intelligentes Kabinennetzwerk,
  • die Einführung von vorbeugender Wartung im Bereich der Kabinensysteme inklusive standardisierter Schnittstellen,
  • die Verbindung von aktuell unabhängigen Kabinensystemen, wie z.B. Sitze, Küchen, Toiletten und Oberflächen, über das Kabinennetzwerk.

Die Komplexität des Gesamtvorhabens mit seinen vielen Partnern erfordert einerseits hinsichtlich seiner gesamten Breite einen umfassenden Systems-Engineering-Ansatz. Andererseits muss innerhalb der verfolgten Teilprojekte eine sehr hohe systemtechnische Tiefe erreicht werden.

Beitrag des Instituts für Flugzeug-Kabinensysteme

Das Institut für Flugzeug-Kabinensysteme begleitet das Vorhaben mit Systems Engineering Methoden und Werkzeugen und arbeitet beim systemtechnischen Entwurf des intelligenten Kabinennetzwerks und der intelligente Küchen und Toiletten mit.

Das Institut bringt auf diese Weise seine Kenntnisse zu Kabinensystemen und die zu deren Entwurf erforderlichen Methoden und Werkzeuge über die gesamte Breite und in ganzer Tiefe in das Vorhaben ein. Darüber hinaus verfolgt das Institut eine Neuordnung von safety-relevanten Betriebs- und kommerziell orientierten Geschäftsprozessen und ebnet damit den Weg für neue digitale Kabinenprodukte. Dieser wird dem stetig wachsenden Funktionsbedarf und auch der Sicherheit gerecht. Eine drahtlose Architektur mit Schnittstellen zu allen Stakeholdern ermöglicht die digitale Transformation der Kabine im Lufttransportsystem. Zum Entwurf nutzt das Institut sein gesammeltes Wissen zu Kabinensystemen und setzt moderne Werkzeuge und Methoden zum modellbasierten Systementwurf ein.

Projektlaufzeit: 01. Januar 2018 - 31. März 2021


Gefördert durch:

aufgrund eines Beschlusses
des Deutschen Bundestages


Klicken Sie hier, um die Projektseite in einem neuen Fenster zu öffnen.