Steering Committee

Members of the steering committee are qua office the president of the TUHH as well as the scientific-technical director of the HZG. The vice president of the TUHH and the scientific-technical general manager of the HZG may represent them.

Board of Directors

The board of directors is composed of professors of the TUHH and the HZG on a basis of parity:

  • Prof. Norbert Huber (Foto: HZG/Christian Schmid)
    Head of Institute of Materials Research,
    Materials Mechanics, HZG
    Professor at the Institute of Materials Physics
    and Technology, TUHH
    Spokesman of the Helmholtz-Programme „Advanced Engineering Materials“
    at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht

    Vice spokesman of the SFB 986

  • Prof. Thomas Klassen

    Head of Institute of Materials Research,
    Materials Technology, HZG
    Institut of Materials Technology, Helmut-Schmidt-Universität

Scientific Advisory Board

Members of the scientific advisory board are renowned personalities in the fields of materials science and engineering:

Dipl.-Ing. Henning Fehrmann, director of Fehrmann Metallverarbeitung GmbH, joined the advisory board as representative of Hamburg's medium-sized manufacturers.


Members of the ZHM are professors at the TUHH, HZG or an associated institution. The members display a high scientific quality and reputation in the field of materials science and engineering. 

Click here for a complete list of members.