Hamburger Volkshochschule

Certificates and Exam Centers

Here you will find information on international language certificates and examination centers.

TELC: Test system for ten different European languages

- English – German – Turkish – Spanish – French – Italian– Portuguese – Russian – Czech – Arabic 

Telc stands for “The European Language Certificates”. But it is not only a shortcut but above all a programme. Under the brand “telc” the telc GmbH, a subsidiary of the German Volkshochschulverband e. V. with central headquarters in Frankfurt, has developed more than 50 exams in ten European languages. Guideline is the Common European Reference Framework for Languages (CERF) of 2001 which has been developed on the initiative of the European Council aiming at the promotion of multilingualism in Europe to improve cross-border mobility, also on the labour market.

The telc certificate is nationwide acknowledged as prerequisite for admission to English language programmes at several universities. This also applies to the TUHH .


  • More information: www.
  • Test Center: Hamburger Volkshochschule, Bildungskontor Hamburg (fixed examination dates three times a year at the University of Hamburg or on demand).



“Test of English as a foreign language” assesses the English language proficiencies of a prospective student orally and in writing. Foreigners who wish to study at an Anglo-American university have to meet a test result required by the particular university. The Toefl is partly required for admission to the English language degree programmes of German universities. The test includes three parts: listening and reading comprehension, speaking and written expression.

A preparatory course is offered at TUHH. This course is free of charge for students and employees of the TUHH.



Test of English for International Communication” measures proficiency in reading, listening and grammar skills in business English. The "TOEIC Speaking and Writing-Test" is an objective assessment of all four language competencies. The reading and listening test is paper-based, the speaking and writing test is internet-based.


"International English Language Testing System"

"International English Language Testing System" is offered by three partner organisations: British Council, University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations and IDP (IELTS Australia). The IELTS test measures the ability of oral and written expression in English. It is recognized by 6000 institution all over the world  - 3000 of them alone in the USA– and by all universities in Great Britain. The test is valid for two years .


University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations (KET, PET, FCE, CAE, CPE)

Cambridge Key English Test (KET) is a basic English language test on the level A2.

Cambridge Preliminary English Test (PET) certifies English language skills on the level B1 which you need to cope with situations in every-day life and the working environment. 

The First Certificate (FCE)  on the B2 levelis the worldwide most popular test to proof proficiency in the four competencies (listening, reading, speaking, writing). 

The Certificate in Advanced English (Cae) is a certificate on advanced level (C1) and recognized by many universities as proof of academic language skills. 

Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE) opens the door to British universities and many other universities of English speaking countries.  



"Diplôme d´Etude de langue française Diplôme Approfondi de langue française"
The DELF and DALF exams are the most important exams in French and are organized by the French Ministry of Education. Since September 2005, there are independent tests that correspond to the levels of the CEFR: A1, A2 (basic), B1, B2 (independent), and DALF at C1, C2 (proficient). The DELF and DALF provide approved language assessment certificates for the admission to French universities. The completion of the tests certifies a communicative, modern linguistic competence in the French language.




"Diplomas Oficiales de Español como Lengua Extranjera"
Together with the University of Salamanca and the Spanish Ministry of Education the Instituto Cervantes offers the DELE exams at following levels: CIE - Certificado inicial de Español como Lengua Extranjera, DBE - diploma Básico de Español como Lengua Extranjera, DSE - diploma Superior de Español como Lengua Extranjera. The DBE exam is a precondition for the admission to a Spanish university and recognized as proof of Spanish language skills by universities and companies worldwide.




The Università per stranieri di Perugia offers the following exams:
CELI 1 - certificato di Conoscenza della lingua italiana, 1
CELI 2 - certificato di Conoscenza della lingua italiana, 2
CELI 3 - certificato di Conoscenza della lingua italiana, 3
CELI 4 - certificato di Conoscenza della lingua italiana, 4
CELI 5 - certificato di Conoscenza della lingua italiana, 5
CIC - Certificazione della conoscenza dell' Italiano Commericale - intermediate
CIC - Certificazione della conoscenza dell' Italiano Commericale - advanced.


"Certificazione di Italiano come Lingua Straniera"
The CILS examination is authorized by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and organized by the University per stranieri di Siena. The test is offered at four levels. The CILS certificate (at least level 2) is a basic requirement for the admission to an Italian university. Italian teachers have to pass the CILS at level four.




Also outside of Sweden Swedish is needed, not at least, because of the many of contacts with Swedish companies. With the help of the Swedex certificates, you can now provide a proof of your language abilities in Swedish.



The test “Russian as a Foreign Language” measures and certifies a person’s Russian language skills. It thus provides the possibility to compare language competencies at different levels.



The Japanese language proficiency test (JLPT) has taken shape over 26 years of history and achievement, and strikes out in a fresh direction as the "new Japanese-language proficiency test" beginning in 2010.

The JLPT places importance not only on a learner's (1) knowledge of the Japanese language including vocabulary and grammar but also on their (2) competence at using the knowledge in practical communication. The test measures the knowledge described in (1) above through a section called "language knowledge (vocabulary/grammar)" and the competence described in (2) above through two sections called "reading" and "Listening." By using these sections in combination, the new test comprehensively measures Japanese communicative competence.

The JLPT is offered in five levels (N1, N2, N3, N4, N5). Test items differ by level in order to closely measure one's Japanese proficiency.

Examination centre in Hamburg:


Key contact:

Dagmar Vejselji: d.vejselji(at) , tel.: + 49 (40) 209421-46

Business address and postal address:
Hamburger Volkshochschule
Bildungskontor Hamburg
Mönckebergstr. 17
20095 Hamburg